She was morning glory personified
Beautiful and stunning
Her radiance glows with the sun

But more than being a hardy vine
A scenic perennial flower
Morning glory symbolizes her life

She’s a hopeless romantic
Who loves in vain—
Even a forbidden one

Spent all her waking days
With a hopeful heart
To an unrequited love, she smiles.


napo2016button1

DAY 8: And now, for our prompt (optional, as always). It’s Friday, and writing poems isn’t easy! So let’s give ourselves a break with a simple prompt today. Poets have been writing about flowers since, oh, the dawn of time. So today, I challenge you to add your own poem to this long tradition, by finding a flower, and versifying in its honor. Happy writing!

I like flowers but I don’t really have a specific favorite. I got this idea from my A to Z post a while ago and I couldn’t be happier with the choice. I never thought morning glories have interesting meaning and symbolism behind its gorgeous petals!

Did you know that it morning glorry could mean?
Unrequited love
Mortality of life
Love that is in vain
Restricted love

To read more about it, click here. Photo credits goes to the author website.

Read more 2016 NaPoWriMo entries here!

