screen-shot-1937-07-07-at-1-48-20-pm-png

I’m a recluse blogger when I first started this site. I only wanted a retreat from life’s hustle and bustle and was just looking for another way to express my endless musings other than scribbling them on a tissue. But as I came to know fellow bloggers who are both awesome and endowed, and became a part of a community who lifts you up and inspires, I felt a bigger purpose unveiling inside me. I wanted to be fearless. I wanted to express my thoughts free of worry. I wanted to hone my writing and learn from them. I wanted this blog to be my abode in being myself. And, indeed, blogosphere has become a home to me.

Despite being newbie to the blogging world, the warm welcome and appreciation from fellow bloggers are more than enough to keep me going. And I would like to thank Sneha of lifeasapotpourri for nominating me for this Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award.

Rules for the award:

  1. Thank the giver and link their blog to your post.
  2. Answer the 10 questions given to you.
  3. Pass the award on to ‘N’ (as many as you want) other bloggers of your choice and let them know that they have been nominated.
  4. Include the logo of the award in a post or on your blog.

Questions asked by Sneha

  1. How has blogging changed your daily life?
    It is my outlet, my quill and quire, the mirror of my thoughts. And if I ever find myself lost in the real world, blogging has been and will always be my refuge, along with all my books.
  1. Define your self in five words
    I never really liked defining myself. Not just because I have not figured myself out, but for the reason that I’ve always believed people change—we’re meant to do so, anyway. So if I’m to define myself, it will not be an erratic attitude or an earthly feature. I think that what truly defines us are those that we hold so dearly in our hearts. As for me:

    God. Family. Dreams. Life. Love.
  1. What do you think liberates the woman today?
    Freedom. Not just the mere freedom from violence and social disparity, but most of all, the freedom from her own insecurity and inferiority.
  1. What do you think the biggest global feminist issue is?
    Stereotyping. I think we are locked in our own cage of self-doubt without us knowing that we had the key all along. Yes, I know, easier said than done, especially when the world that we live in starts defining a woman’s worth with it’s own scale entrenched by stereotyping (the sole root of anxiety among women). You see a woman max her credit card on fancy dresses to meet social decorum. A woman starving herself to death because Vogue screams slim is better. A woman on IV for her Glutathione shot because TV says white is striking.  A woman meeting a surgeon because ads suggest big is the new trend. A woman climbing the social ladder because society deems opulence is power.To a woman who lives in a pageantry of vanity, every single day is like walking with chains shackling her to bigotry. Life shouldn’t be curated to impress anyone or everyone.
  1. Who is your favorite female author and why?
    Lang Leav. I love her poetry and her thoughts. I am always at awe whenever she managed to scrawl random words and turn it into something deep and beautiful. It’s not just the fancy words that amaze me, it’s the wave of emotions that comes with it that leaves me astounded and thunderstruck. She’s always been an inspiration; a woman with the gift of vision on what really matters in love and life.
  1. Do you think “Feminism” is overrated?
    No, people are. I believe establishing political, economic, cultural, personal, and social right for women is substantial but, not trying to pick a fight, so does men. Both ends should meet halfway.
  1. One thing that you think you would want to change about yourself.
    A good memory. I have such a bad memory, long or short. I feel like the rest of the world is living with a hundred terabyte memory space while I only have a gigabyte. Probably because I’m a spur-of-the-moment kind of person but it would certainly make me happy, ecstatic even, if I will be able to recall people and events, lines and quotes, etcetera—with ease.
  1. If you were hosting a Girls Night Out what would be your anthem song?
    Since we’re talking about women and feminism, Colbie Cailat’s Try or Beyonce’s Pretty Hurts would be a great choice. But if I were to host a Girls Night Out with my girlfriends, Taylor Swift’s 22 would be perfect.
  1. If you had to choose a Board of Directors representing your All Women Company who all would you appoint and why?
  • Chairman of the Board – Angelina Jolie; an advocate of good will and a reflection of a strong woman
  • Executive Vice President- JK Rowling; She’s good at looking things in various perspectives
  • Secretary- Lang Leav; I’ve always been amazed by her keenness and the depth of her words
  • Chief Financial Officer- Taylor Swift; she’s crazy but has a deep understanding of what it is to be a woman. Plus she’s got a lot of connection.
  • Board Members- My girlfriends and I. I have various set of friends from all walks of life and it would be one awesome company to work with them by my side.
  1. One advice or piece of learning you would want to tell your daughter and one to your son in future

    To my future daughter, Abbey, and future son, Grae:

    No matter what life throws at you, never give up on life and love. And most of all, never give up on your self. Abbey, find the wisdom of knowing when to stop listening to people and start listening to the little voice inside you. Grae, real men never toy a barbie doll (if you know what I mean).

    Hugs and kisses with love on top, Mommy.

Now for these awesome bloggers,

Jessie
Leya’s Chamber
Shivangi
Millie Thom
Louise

…would you so kindly answer these?

  1. Why do you write?
  2. If you were to create a fictional character for yourself, who it be and why?
  3. What’s your favorite book?
  4. Idealism or realism?
  5. What quote do you live by and why?
  6. What’s the most challenging thing on being a woman?
  7. If you could spend a day with a character in a book or movie, who would it be and why?
  8. What is the first thing that comes to mind when you hear ‘feminism’.
  9. Name one thing you will never do in life.
  10. If your blog is a body part, what would it be and why?

Looking forward to your response. Smiles! 🙂