Take Me Not To Dreamland

take me not to dreamland
to the lands of make-believe
but lead me to a place instead
that swathes of artistry
where faces ashen to the sight
of reality
where pointing fingers curl in guilt
and men spring to take the blame

amuse me, bemuse me
but not with fantasy

© 2017 Maria. All Rights Reserved.

Photograph by David Levene/Eyevine via TheNewYorker


In response to dVerse’s Poetics: Amuse me! Take me for a ride! hosted by the lovely Lillian.

P.S My apologies if this one digress from the fun. 😅 As an avid fan, I couldn’t help but think of Banksy with today’s prompt. In 2015, the world was shaken when the artist opened his bemusement park, Dismaland. Situated in the Weston-super-Mare seafront, the themed park displayed demented assortment of bizarre and thought-provoking artworks from Banksy and more than 50 artists around the world— from street art, spoof fairground rides, derelict Cinderella castle, grim reaper exhibit, a dystopian model village and many more. Ah, if only I could teleport! 😦

You can find more info and images of Dismaland from these links: Colossal, Reuters, The Guardian

Head over here to join the fun:

dverse

