Keepsake

It started with five seconds
The sudden meeting of the eyes
On that tiny wisp of time

And then there was a tug-of-war
Your arms wrapped ‘round my waist
I came to be your willing prey

It ended with a blue ribbon
The one you tied around my wrist
My only keepsake of that day

Those seconds may have long passed
Your arms may have set me free
And the ribbon’s knot may have loosened
But in this heart there once was you and me

© 2017 Maria. All Rights Reserved.


In response to dVerse’s Tuesday Poetics: One Memento hosted by the lovely Mish.

Here is a true story for today’s prompt where Mish ask us to write a poem about one memento. I’m grinning at the moment remembering the past. Haha. Was it too foolish to keep that ribbon? *hides*

“You may use a souvenir from your travels, a photo, a keepsake from a special moment or event, perhaps a small token that is dear to your heart. Let it channel the emotion and significance that it holds for you. Give us a little piece of your past, a glimpse of who you are. If you find this perspective too personal, feel free to use a fictitious memento and/or voice.”

Head over here to join the fun:

dverse

