tumblr_ndcwekv37o1r7falzo1_500

Maybe

I sit by the bedside table, hands tapping above the desk. The room is dark except for the faint light creeping from under the door. It’s 2 AM yet my heart and mind are still debating, “Should I ask you again?

I look at my phone thinking maybe you’ll change your mind. Maybe you’ll remember the laughter.  Maybe you’ll remember the stories that we shared together in those five years. Maybe you’ll remember our small fights that turn to cuddles at night. Maybe you’ll remember the places we’ve been into and the places we wanted to go. Maybe you’ll remember me. Maybe you’ll remember us.

Maybe, just maybe, “we” still matter to you.

Most people would find this absurd— to keep on waiting for someone. To stare blankly at your phone, waiting for that one single text saying, “I still do.”

I know you might have woken up and decided you can’t do this anymore. So you stopped answering. Chances are I overwhelm you. Chances are I am a walking mistake to you.

But then this maybe that I cling to, might be an exception.

So, I waited.

Because maybe, somehow, we could start anew.

© 2016 Maria. All Rights Reserved.

Photo Credits: Anna O. via Raspberry Dreams


I find it a breath of fresh air listening to other people’s love story instead of mourning over mine. Lol. Love, I learned, is both beautiful and terrifying. But always, worth it. Here’s a little something I wrote for a friend whose love story is riding on a roller coaster. Today marks their 5th year anniversary. I wish to the stars that they’ll get through love’s bumpy ride.

