sketch_of_a_phoenix_by_whiteraven90
Digital Art by Melinda (WhiteRaven90)

Dearest D,

I yearn for you like the irises yearn for summer heat and warmth. I want to kiss your hands and hold them as we climb atop the Pyramids of Giza or sit beneath the mango tree watching kites fly in the deep blue skies. D, I am like a beggar waiting in an alley with an empty can, pleading for your love. Every memory of you haunts me like a ghost. Like how the world stopped as you walked the hallway in little black dress—and how I wished to be the silk that night. How your sweet giggles played a melody to my ears as you watched the comical clown on the street. How the light in your eyes shined brightly as you talked about Louvre and travelling back in time, of Area 51 and aliens, of John Keats and Little Red Riding Hood.

God, how I wished for those moments to be frozen in time.

I would brave the earthquakes and fight the wolves just to see you walk the aisle of Basilica Minore del Santo Nino with me— hand in hand. I want a brighter word than bright and a fairer word than fair that would suffice to describe how I see you in my eyes. And if one day you are drowning in doubt, bear in mind that my love for you is like a phoenix. My love for you is eternal; my love for you never dies.

Forever yours, M.

Poetry Form: Prose


napo2016button1

Day 16: Today, I challenge you to fill out, in no more than five minutes, the following “Almanac Questionnaire,” which solicits concrete details about a specific place (real or imagined). Then write a poem incorporating or based on one or more of your answers. Happy writing!

I enjoyed this prompt so much that I ended up using all my answers in the poem. ❤

Weather: Summer heat
Flora: Iris
Architecture: Louvre
Customs: Kiss in the hand
Mammals/reptiles/fish: wolves
Childhood dream: To climb atop the Pyramids of Giza
Found on the Street: beggar
Export: silk
Graffiti: clown
Lover: D
Conspiracy: aliens in Area 51
Dress: Little black
Hometown memory: flying kites
Notable person: John Keats
Outside your window, you find: Mango tree
Today’s news headline: Earthquake
Scrap from a letter: I want a brighter word than bright, a fairer word than fair.
Animal from a myth: Phoenix
Story read to children at night: Little Red Riding Hood
You walk three minutes down an alley and you find: Empty can
You walk to the border and hear: Giggles
What you fear: Ghost
Picture on your city’s postcard: Basilica Minore del Santo Nino

