This week’s chapter on The Great Book of Lists is another challenging one for one sole reason: I CAN’T cook a decent dish. I’ve tried to learn cooking, though not enthusiastically, but it seemed to be not one of my forte. Ha! So much for, “The best way to win a man’s heart is through his stomach.”

Filipinos are naturally rice eater. It’s just hard to let a day pass by without having a rice meal. For this reason, we favor the dishes that goes well with rice. So here are some of my favorite Filipino dishes that I tried (or did not) to cook. 😀

1. Adobong Baboy – A trademark of Filipino cuisine. It could either be chicken or pork but I love the latter most, especially if added with pineapple tidbits. I tried to cook once, with the guidance of YouTube, but I end up with a burnt-bitter version of adobo. (Click here for the original image and recipe.)

Pork Adobo With Pineapple

 

2. Lechon – You can rarely celebrate a feast in the Philippines without lechon. This mouth-watering, sumptuous, crispy-on-the-outside-tasty-on-the-inside ulam can just never go wrong. I used to hep my cousins turn over the lechon back at home but, mind you, the coal’s achingly hot and the steel’s heavy!

 

3. Sinigang na Baboy- The only decent dish that I have successfully cooked. Although, unlike its original recipe, I cooked it with sweet corn and without the eggplant (not a fan). It may not look much but it’s really tasty, I promise! 😀

IMG_20150808_122658

 

4. Tinabal– Tinabal is a type of fish processing which popular in the Visayas particularly Leyte. The most commonly used species for this product are parrot fish and frigate tuna. I tried the native bacalao tinabal at Kuizine and it reminds me of home. It’s the perfect blend of salty and spicy flavors that made me crave for more. YUM!

IMG-8723
(c) Bukool

5. Bicol Express- is a popular Filipino dish which was made in traditional Bicolano style. The meat is cooked in coconut milk and chili peppers that you just couldn’t say no to. Phew! Now I REALLY have to stop. My stomach’s growling. 😀

 

How about you? What are your favorite dishes? I would love to hear them, too. 🙂 🙂 🙂

