145 02 February 28th 2016

Lori and Chad have been working in the office for twelve straight hours. Hunched over their desks, nothing breaks the ghostly silence except for the tapping on keyboards. They’ve been waiting months for an approved one-week vacation and by the time their boss dropped the big “YES”, Lori and Chad had assiduously wrapped their tasks in a heap of papers.

“YES!” they shouted in chorus.

Lori excitedly hugged Chad and gave him a kiss. “We better get home! We need to pack! We have our tickets, right? Please tell me we already do…”

“Baby, relax,” he whispered, too sleepy and tired to even give a wide smile, “I’ve already booked our trip. But we’ll have to wait until the next day- which is great because we badly need a rest.”

“Fine.” She answered, her lips forming a pout.

“Ha! Don’t give me that! Besides, didn’t you read the news? UK’s in a slight stir due to EU referendum and Brexit.” Chad teased.

“I don’t care. I want the Stonehenge, Big Ben, Canterbury, cathedrals, castles, and cobbled-streets. I want the places where Chaucer, Shakespeare, Dickens, and Jane Austen once breathed. So, no, mister. I’ve waited for months, what’s one more day.”

Word Count: 200


Written for Sunday Photo Fiction’s prompt. The image looked too political which is NOT my cup of tea so I had to resort to my long-time dream, a European trip (which, of course, includes UK!) 😀

Sunday Photo Fiction is a weekly writing challenge hosted by Alastair Forbes where a photo is used as a prompt for a piece of fiction using around 200 words. The piece doesn’t have to center around exactly what the photo is, it can be just used as a basis for a story.

Enjoy more awesome stories here:

