Leap Day marks the opening of the path to Castle Peak- a medieval castle demonstrating the power and significance of its Lords- to every maiden in Naga City. Every four years, on the 29th of February, all maiden above sixteen will walk the unsteady pavement, brave the roaring waves, and  fight the gusting winds in search for a dashing prince or a knight in shining armor.

This year will be her third try. Hesitant, she stopped on the side of the path and stared down her shaking hands.

“Lisa! The ball will start soon. Why aren’t you in dress?” asked one of the girls passing by.

“Ssshh! Don’t you know? It’s her third time this year. A shame!” whispered the other.

“Come on, leave her and her gloves alone!” called out the rest.

With tears in her eyes, she decided to walk away from this place, tossed twenty-four pairs of gloves into the grey sea, and  forget the path to grandeur.

“Love will find me, if it’s meant to be.”

Word Count: 170


Here is for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers prompt. This photo prompt from TJ Paris reminds me of my first love. The I-have-no-idea-why-I-like-him-but-I-did-anyway kind of guy, born on the 29th of February, who turned me down (unknowingly). Ha! I moved one. I moved one. I- fine… maybe just a little bit bitter. I should just shut up here! 😀 😀 😀

P.S  According to ancient history, St Brigid struck a deal with St Patrick to allow women to propose to men and any man who refuses a woman’s proposal has to buy her 12 pairs of gloves to hide the embarrassment of not having an engagement ring. (Source)

Thanks for another fun prompt, PJ! 😀

Enjoy more stories here:

 

