thomas-kinkade-oil-painting-526-40
Oil Painting by Thomas Kinkade

Streaks of morning light

Chirping birds in the sky

A smell of coffee in the air

The melody of church bells

Children’s laughter nearby

Loud screams of delight

Waking to my father’s voice

And to my mother’s smile

In another world it is darker
Dimmed by anguish and war
In another world people suffer
Chained by fear and scar

But in this world the sky is clear

Birds chirp; children laugh

In this world the church bell rings

My father sings; my mother smiles

And how I wished to spend a lifetime

Where angels of mirth dance in glee

In a small world that I call, Home

Where I am boundless and free


Last Friday, I’ve decided to post my unpublished poem, Seconds: A Vignette,  for our Writing 101: Poetry course. As a continuation, I am posting yet another LATE entry for our Day 5 prompt (a courtesy of Imposiblebong of My Own Private Idaho). This is the one I wrote last Christmas, during my two-week long holiday vacation. A time when I was in a state of blissful freedom. 🙂 🙂

Day 5: Freedom

Freedom is a fundamental need. It is so powerful that nations go to war for it. People engage in both despicable and heroic deeds to gain it. In the name of freedom we suffer, make sacrifices, and attempt to perform miracles. For freedom we are willing to lose everything and risk our lives, since no life really is one without freedom.

What freedom means is open to interpretation, which is why it’s been a recurring subject in art. In today’s poem, share your take on freedom. While you’re at it, be fearless with your thoughts. Don’t hold back. Unleash your emotions and be honest with yourself. Uncensored writing coming from the heart often produces the most amazing read.

