SPF 4

I never liked it whenever mom and dad leave me alone with the twins, Ben and Crum. They either make a fool out of me or ignore me completely. Tonight, I played the role of the lone unseen as I watched them engage enemy forces in Berlin, eyes not blinking as if their lives depend on it.

Out of nowhere, probably boredom, I asked, “Did you know that in ancient Greece, cicadas were considered a luxury snack?”

Their eyes blinked as if trying to process if the Black Ops said something about cicadas.

“Hello! Ben and Crum to Earth!” I finally stood in front, blocking their view from the game.

“Troy you weirdo. Go away or I’ll kill you!” screamed Ben in angst.

“Mom says you guys should watch over me, not play Call of Duty.”

“You wouldn’t like that. Move!” shooed Crum.

“What a waste, we should’ve been sitting next to a campfire.”

I ran upstairs and looked out my bedroom window. Fireflies mimicked the stars, twinkling and blinking along the beckoning woods. And there it was, a most unlikely sight, an orb-like thing shinning in emerald light.

“Come deep into the forest if you dare.” it says.

Word Count: 199


This week’s Sunday Photo Fiction prompt was quite a challenge. It took me sometime weighing if I should opt for another soliloquy or a short story. Then I finally decided on the latter. 🙂

Sunday Photo Fiction is a weekly writing challenge hosted by Alastair Forbes where a photo is used as a prompt for a piece of fiction using around 200 words. The piece doesn’t have to center around exactly what the photo is, it can be just used as a basis for a story.

Enjoy more awesome stories here.

