Perksofbeingwallflower1

Dear Chbosky,

I hope you’re doing well because I’m not. At least I think one of us should. It’s 3:32 AM in my timezone and I’d like you to know that you owe me a good night sleep. Your book, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, which I have finished reading five hours ago has been bugging me endlessly. So I guess I am left with no choice but to write this quick review long RANT pertaining the subject at hand. Here it goes…

That was awful, annoying, depressing, and lame! It took me three nights (that’s a stain to my record by the way) to finish your story and frankly I had to force myself read until the very last page. You had the idea, what a WASTE! An interesting one, in fact. Charlie, a wallflower who would rather sit on the side-lines and observe, along with all the twist and turn of events that a NORMAL fifteen year old must face has already laid a good foundation to the story. It could have been a great book had it have a DEPTH to the characters and scenes. But no, you just tossed everything around in black and white.

I understand coming-of-age lugs a lot of issue but must you include ALL? Belongingness, infatuation, suicide, death, drugs, alcohol, violence, sex, homosexuality, rape, teenage pregnancy, abortion– you just listed all the possible things that could ever go wrong in a teenager’s life and put them in the book like it’s nothing. You may be trying to create the essence of a full high school experience but what you did was an OVERKILL concerning the delay in time. Charlie in his first year, seriously?

Aside from Charlie, I could barely remember half of the characters and their roles in your story. That’s how SHALLOW they are.The portrayals of Charlie and everyone else was too SUPERFICIAL. Charlie, whom I assumed to be someone of interest, turned out to be the most annoying character I have ever read. I actually did not bother to mull over Charlie’s psychological trauma which was another insubstantial part of the book. It was all like, ‘DUH!’ for me. Also if my memory serves right, Charlie is described as someone who’s intelligent beyond his years but I did not even get the slightest hint of that. He’s a FREAK and I’m not talking about the cute kind of freak. I understand that wallflowers tend to be introverted, reserved, and taciturn but I don’t expect them to be a complete WEAKLING and a CRYBABY. Loneliness, sadness, and pain are a good recipe to any form of literature but it doesn’t necessarily connotes a river of tears or a repetition of the word SAD. Readers need to understand WHAT those tears mean and WHY the word ‘sad’ keeps on repeating. Don’t just heedlessly throw that on every other page. Ever heard of EMOTION?

It wasn’t a story I was reading, it was just a collection of words, sentences, and paragraphs printed on pieces of paper. It was just a meltdown for me. I hope you know how heartbreaking it is to stumble on a book that deflates your enthusiasm. And by the way, the best part of it was your ‘THE END’.

Sorry not sorry, Maria

Click here for the book summary and more reviews.

P.S I know it has been my rule to just do very quick reviews and I know I have vowed not to step on anyone’s form of writing because I, myself am a struggling wanna-be but you just have to excuse me this time

Dull as it may be, this book does have quotable quotes to choose from:

  • “Standing on the fringes of life… offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.”
  • “I think the idea is that every person has to live for his or her own life and then make the choice to share it with other people. Maybe that is what makes people “participate.”
  • “It’s great that you can listen and be a shoulder to someone, but what about when someone doesn’t need a shoulder? What if they need the arms or something like that? You can’t just sit there and put everybody’s lives ahead of yours and think that counts as love. You just can’t. You have to do things.” 
  • “So, I guess we are who we are for alot of reasons. And maybe we’ll never know most of them. But even if we don’t have the power to choose where we come from, we can still choose where we go from there. We can still do things. And we can try to feel okay about them.”
  • “There’s nothing like deep breaths after laughing that hard. Nothing in the world like a sore stomach for the right reasons.”
  • “I think that if I ever have kids, and they are upset, I won’t tell them that people are starving in China or anything like that because it wouldn’t change the fact that they were upset. And even if somebody else has it much worse, that doesn’t really change the fact that you have what you have.”
  • “It’s just that I don’t want to be somebody’s crush. If somebody likes me, I want them to like the real me, not what they think I am. And I don’t want them to carry it around inside. I want them to show me, so I can feel it too.”
  • “Enjoy it. Because it’s happening.”
  • “We didn’t talk about anything heavy or light. We were just there together. And that was enough”
  • “And I guess I realized at that moment that I really did love her. Because there was nothing to gain, and that didn’t matter.”
  • “And all the books you’ve read have been read by other people. And all the songs you’ve loved have been heard by other people. And that girl that’s pretty to you is pretty to other people. and that if you looked at these facts when you were happy, you would feel great because you are describing ‘unity.”
  • “Try to be a filter, not a sponge.”

Done and dusted, mariawenttotown15

